Creating Art with an iPad

By Janet Dodrill

iPad drawing by Janet Dodrill.

iPad drawing by Janet Dodrill.

Drawing is something I have always loved, and trained for in fine arts school. Then came the computer and I learned the creative electronic tools to make a living as a graphic designer. Along came the iPad and I avoided it primarily because of the expense, saving for two years to afford one. After the purchase, again, I avoided it. In my mind it was not enough like the computer and required learning to use it. I didn’t really know what to do with it or what it could be used for. A year and a half later, I now pick it up regularly to reconnect with my love for drawing. After installing some art Apps, I began using them. I hope to keep practicing and improving my (digital) drawing skills. I know now that both drawing and working with the iPad do take practice! The key for me, like working towards anything worthwhile in life, is to keep practicing.

I will be briefly sharing some of my work and the tools used for it at an upcoming presentation later this month:

Cleveland Digital Publishing Users Group
“A Quick Tour of Art Apps for iPad”
Speakers: Nancy Aikins. Henry Lee, Janet Dodrill, Marvin Sable
Thursday, March 27, 2014
New Horizons Computer Learning Center
1 Infinity Corp Ctr. Dr., #250
Cleveland, OH 44125
Free for CDPUG members, $10 for guests
Networking at 6pm, Meeting at 6:30 – 8pm
More information: www.cdpug.org

Comments are closed.

